Britannica Online: Britannica
Online is the leading electronic encyclopedia in education. Using this electronic
resource searches articles within the Encyclopaedia Britannica, the
Britannica Student Encyclopedia, the Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia,
as well as the Internet Guide, 150 full-text periodicals, and a daily news
archive offering current events coverage. Articles include links to Web sites
selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Merriam-Webster’s
Dictionary and Thesaurus are also available and unfamiliar words within
articles can be clicked upon for definitions. Britannica Online also has added
a new database feature, Britannica Heritage, which explores articles, images,
and media from past editions of the encyclopedia, thus studying the various
changes through the many editions of this reference standard. A video section
adds multimedia and full-motion video on the site. A timeline browse feature
allows users to search historical events. Britannica Online also contains
an interactive World Atlas that allows students to discover detailed information
on the nations of the world. The Atlas is continually updated and contains
information covering the history, geography, government, economy, national
statistics, color maps, national anthems, and flags for nearly 200 nations.
EBSCO Academic Search Elite:
This database contains full-text articles for over 1,700 scholarly publications
over a variety of academic disciplines and abstracts covering over 2,800 journals.
Many full-text articles are PDF images of the actual scanned journal page
and are often in color. More than 100 journals have PDF images back to 1985.
Academic areas include the social sciences, humanities, education, computer
sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts
& literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies. etc.
EBSCO MAS Ultra (School Edition):
Contains full text articles for more than 450 popular high school magazines.
Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays, student pamphlets,
and primary source documents. Also included are the CIA World Factbook,
World Almanac & Book of Facts, 2000 edition, and an image collection
of well-known photographs. Audio and video features are planned additions
to this database.
EBSCO Health Source (Consumer
Edition): The largest consumer health database available to libraries
worldwide. This database provides access to more than 150 full text consumer
health periodicals, more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets, 20 health reference
books, and 7,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports.
EBSCO Newspaper Source:
This resource provides selected full-text coverage or abstracts for more than
160 newspapers, newswires, and other sources providing national and international
focus.
EBSCO TOPICsearch: This database includes more than 50,000
full text articles that explore social, political and economic issues, scientific
discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms
and debated among scholars.
EBSCO ERIC:
This well-known database contains full-text of more than 2,200 digests along
with references for additional information, and citations and abstracts from
more than 980 educational and education-related journals. Articles found in
the EBSCO Professional Development Collection are given links in the corresponding
citations for ease of use.
EBSCO Professional Development
Collection: The most comprehensive and valuable collection of
full-text education journals in the world, containing full text for more than
400 high-quality education journals and 165 education pamphlets.
Grove
Dictionary of Music and Musicians: The New Grove Dictionary
of Music and Musicians is universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed
authority on all aspects of music. This great work is widely used throughout
the academic and professional community, and revered by music lovers worldwide.
Now available online, this electronic reference source contains over 25 million
words with over 29,000 articles, over 9000 newly commissioned articles, over
6000 contributors from all parts of the world, meticulous cross-referencing,
coverage of new schools of thought within musicology, such as feminism, nazism
and gay and lesbian music, and increased coverage of world, jazz, popular
and 20th-century music. In 2003, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz,
second edition will join the Grove Music Library online, offering library
patrons articles on every aspect of the field, from jazz groups, composers
and arrangers to instruments, terms, record labels and venues.
Infotrac
Biography Resource Center with Marquis Who’s Who: The Biography
Resource Center combines over 330,000 biographies on nearly 220,000 people
from nearly 80 respected sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia
of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television,
Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century
Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International
Dictionary of Art and Artists, and Writers Directory, with full-text
articles from more than 250 magazines including American History, The
Christian Century, Saturday Night, and U.S. News & World Report.
An added feature is The Complete Marquis Who’s Who offering
access to over 900,000 thumbnail biographies on important people of our time.
Searches can be conducted in various fields including by occupation, gender,
birth/death dates, birth/death place, and nationality or ethnicity.
Infotrac
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select: Contemporary Literary
Criticism Select is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary
authors (defined as authors either living or who died after December 31, 1959).
Each CLC Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing
of principal works and sources for further study.
Infotrac
Expanded Academic ASAP: From arts and the humanities to social
sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across
all academic disciplines. Access over 1,000 scholarly journals, news magazines,
and newspapers - many with full text and images.
Infotrac
General BusinessFile ASAP: Analyze company performance and activity,
industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics
and politics. General BusinessFile ASAP provides access to a combination of
broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company
directory listings with full text and images available. While the Business
& Company Resource Center concentrates on stock and trading information,
General BusinessFile ASAP focuses on business trends, administrative issues,
and the politics of business through a variety of sources.
Infotrac
General Reference Center Gold: A general interest database that
integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General
Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and
periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events,
popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports,
hobbies, and more. General Reference Center Gold allows users to access information
on a search topic while providing them with links to other articles and information
within other Infotrac databases.
Infotrac Health Reference Center Academic: Designed more for
nursing and allied health students, Health Reference Center Academic can also
be used for consumer research in the areas of: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine,
Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol
and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. Results will include more academic
titles. The material contained in this database is intended for informational
purposes only. This is an excellent resource for medical journals.
Infotrac
Kids Edition – K-12: Despite the title saying “K-12”,
this periodical database is designed for elementary school students, with
easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information
on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government,
history, sports and more. The search interface is graphic, involving kids
by having them click on pictures of general subject categories and then search
the predefined results. Sources are either newspapers or periodicals geared
toward an elementary age group.
Infotrac Jr. Edition – K-12: Aimed at a slightly older audience than
the “Kids Edition”, this periodical database is designed for students
in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference
books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science,
popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. While
still possessing a very visual interface, categories are now by material type
(maps, reference, periodicals, encyclopedias, newspapers) as the assumption
is made that students will know where to look for their inquiry. Search types
include subject, keyword, and advanced, so beginners might require adult guidance.
Infotrac
Student Edition: While the interface is identical to other academic
Infotrac databases, this database is designed for high school students, with
access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference
books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture,
health, people, government, history, sports and more. The main difference
between this resource and other Infotrac resources is the Student Edition
concentrates more on popular magazines and topics of interest to teens (i.e.,
career and colleges, teen health, celebrities, etc.). Secondary school students
wishing to research more academic topics should be directed to other databases
covering the specific discipline. Coverage is from 1985 to the present.
Infotrac Professional Collection: Designed for educational professionals,
the Professional Collection offers access to 250 full-text titles covering
various aspects of education, both practical and pedagogical.
Massachusetts newspapers through
Newsbank: This database contains the full text of all staff-written
news features, special interest stories, editorials, daily columns, letters
to the editor and sports reports for The Boston Globe (1980-present),
The Boston Herald (1997-present), The Worcester Telegraph &
Gazette (1989-present), and The Springfield Union News (1988-present).
NetLibrary.
This electronic database, offered through the Boston Public Library, provides
access to over 38,000 electronic books, which users are allowed to “check
out” for 24 hours at a time over the internet.
Oxford English Dictionary:
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution
of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide
to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both
present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations
from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic
literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. The
OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America
to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also
offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and
shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. With at least
1,000 new and revised entries each quarter, users will be able to search the
equivalent of over 20 volumes of information with speed. Entries will be displayed
according to user preference - for the first time you can turn pronunciation,
etymologies, variant spellings, and quotations on and off. Library patrons
interested in etymological history will also be able to compare revised entries
with entries from the Second Edition to see how the language has changed.
Oxford Reference Online:
Oxford Reference Online: The Core Collection brings together 100 language
and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000
pages - into a single cross-searchable resource. Oxford has an unrivalled
international reputation for the authority and reliability of its publishing
program. Every work has to be approved by experts in each academic field,
and all undergo quality-checking by Oxford's experienced team of editors.
Oxford Reference Online has an excellent search feature known as “Cross-Reference”.
Simply highlight any word of your choice and click the "Cross-Reference"
icon, and Oxford Reference Online will perform a quick search across the database
automatically. In addition, you can click on any underlined words or terms
in entries, and you will be taken instantly to the appropriate cross-reference
in that book. In addition to high-quality entries and articles, this electronic
reference also has embedded over 1000 high-quality carefully-researched and
well-maintained web links into the text, offering users access to more information.
Groton School Library users should note that the library does have many print
versions of Oxford dictionaries and reference works in its reference collection
for further study.
ProQuest Historical
Newspapers: The ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ program
offers students and faculty web access to a fantastic resource — the
complete back run of The New York Times from 1851 to 1999 in full
article and digital page image. Searches can be conducted narrowing date ranges,
types of articles (editorials, obituaries, etc.), and keywords. For library
patrons interested in searching The New York Times from 2000 to the
present, the library subscribes to The New York Times on CD-ROM.
CD-ROMs of entire years can be checked out on reserve in the library. Please
contact a member of the library staff for more information.